Alpha Records Corporation

Mr. Buddy O. de Vera
Chairman & President
1731 E. Rodriguez Sr., Ave., Quezon City
Tels: 725-9061 up to 66
Fax : 723-1721 / E-mail:
Web site:

MUSIC SAMPLES [ click to hear audio clips in .mp3 format ]

"Ang Pag-ibig Kong Ito"
"Iniwan Mo Akong Nag-iisa"
"No Love and Desire"


Alpha Records Corporation, easily a recording industry legend in the Philippines, has been producing quality music since 1963, or a good 40 years in 2003. It is one of the oldest record companies in the country, ranking among the top ten in the music industry, and is considered among the most stable recording outfits in the country.

Alpha Records Corporation had its beginnings in 1963 when Buddy De Vera resigned from a recording company where he worked for five years and decided to venture into independent production. He formed Alpha Recording System, a sole proprietorship, which had Nellie Santos, Baby Aguilar, Gloria Slega, and a band called The Ramrods (headed by Orly Ilacad, who later became a recording bigwig himself).

At that time, the industry was dominated by the so-called giants-Villar, Hidcor, Mico and Super, all of which have closed shop. The thrust of Alpha at that time was 100 per cent local or domestic production. In quick succession, Alpha signed up the following artists: Diomedes Maturan, Bobby Gonzales, Carmen Soriano, Louie Levant.

In 1968, a little brown girl from Bicol was contracted by Alpha upon the recommendation of Carmen Soriano. Her name was Nora Villamayor, known to "Tawag ng Tanghalan (Challenge of the Champions)", a popular amateur singing contest followers as Nora Aunor.

The Golden Age
Nora's signing up with Alpha marked the beginning of the Golden Age of Philippine Recording. Although Nora's first singles were not major hits, she smashed all records sales with her next releases, a series of hits which included "It's Time To Say Goodbye," "Silently," "Forever Loving You," "It's Not Unusual," and countless others.

In Nora's seven years with Alpha, she was able to set all-time high record sales which up to this day have not been surpassed. She had more than 100 hit singles, more than 15 hit albums, and several extended plays. At the height of her popularity as a recording artist, local records soared up to 75% of national sales. During this time, other young stars as Lirio Vital, Manny de Leon, Rhodora Silva, Eva Vivar, Jay Ilagan, Darius Razon were also signed up by Alpha.

By the early 1980's, Alpha Recording System was incorporated to become Alpha Records Corporation, a family corporation. A few years later, the company was able to expand and move into new fields, notably the acquisition of exclusive licenses to major foreign record companies such as MCA Records (1979), A & M Records (1985).

Alpha also became the Philippine licensee of Virgin Records (1988) and Factory Records, two progressive U.K. based labels to its roster of foreign affiliates. During the 1990's Alpha Records focused on the production of quality domestic repertoire, and was able to affirm its position as the leading exponent of Filipino music.

Through the years, Alpha's roster of singers included Rachel Alejandro, Richard Reynoso, Marco Sison, Ric Segretto, Imelda Papin, Freddie Aguilar, Mariz, Yoyoy Villame, Aiza Seguerra, L.A. Lopez, Rica Peralejo, 14-K, Leo Martinez, Shirley Fuentes, Nino Alejandro and the bands Yano and Agaw Agimat. Under Alpha's indie label, Alpha Numeric Records, signed up were the bands Color It Red and Immaculate. Lately. A group of dynamic artists joined the stable of Alpha's recording talents. They are Selina Sevilla, Kawago, Anne Jameo, Girlie Cruz and Master J.

In signing up recording artists, De Vera said Alpha's corporate policy has always been anchored on true, genuine talent. "We sign up only the real singers, not mediocre ones who can't sing," he said in an interview. Through the years, De Vera has further strengthened his faith in the Filipino talent.

In 1998, the De Veras established another music label, Harmony Music with De Vera's son, Alvin, as division head. Harmony is home to current artists Aegis, Moonstar88, Retrospect, Glydel Mercado, Mariella, Ronald Navarro, Siakol, 1201 and recently, the bands Bent, Cover Me Quick, Ascension and upcoming solo artist Mel Regaza and Najah to its current roster.



home : about us : members : articles : awards : pictures : contact : back to top